The issue is most likely due to misconfigured settings of the microphone, which can be reset, as an immediate fix. Some applications may take control over the microphone and mute it if you have given them permissions. Or malwares in the form of svchost.exe process can also do so without requiring any permission. Loosely connected mic jacks and physical damages might also be potential causes. Not to mention faulty drivers, which can hinder communication between the system and hardware. Regardless, performing simple fixes such as running audio troubleshooter, managing application permissions or, on rare occasions performing driver cleanups should solve the issue at hand.

How to Fix Constantly Muting Mic?

Before you begin, check the connection between your mic and the computer. Secure the microphone jack to avoid loose connection. You should also check if any physical damage in the cable is causing the problem.

Run Input Audio Troubleshooter

Now that we have ensured a proper connection, Windows troubleshooter will prompt the OS to scan for configuration related problems. It will also automatically fix mic detection issues and reset any problematic settings.

Check Permissions

Windows allows managing permissions necessary to handle the input devices. Microphone being one, can be enabled or disabled for individual applications. You can perform a quick check from the settings and enable the mic permissions for the applications you are using.

Revoke Exclusive Controls

Some applications can take-over the microphone access if they have exclusive control over it. You can disable apps from exclusively using and subsequently muting the microphone.

Update/Reinstall Drivers

The microphone driver-related issues too can cause the constant muting problem, especially when the driver isn’t updated properly or is incompatible with the current version of the OS. To fix the issue, you need to update your mic drivers. If there was no update available or if updating didn’t work, try to reinstall your drivers to fix the microphone muting issues caused by corrupted drivers.

End Malicious Process

Malware and viruses can also take control of the microphone settings and modify them causing the discussed issue. Muting problems, as seen in many users, have been noticed because of malware existing as svchost process. You will have to end the process to fix the problem.

Malware Scan

There may be other malware than the svchost on your system that can hijack and mute microphone. For other malware and viruses, you can run Windows defender and check for them:

My Mic Keeps Muting Itself   How Do I Fix It  - 59My Mic Keeps Muting Itself   How Do I Fix It  - 17My Mic Keeps Muting Itself   How Do I Fix It  - 36My Mic Keeps Muting Itself   How Do I Fix It  - 31My Mic Keeps Muting Itself   How Do I Fix It  - 95My Mic Keeps Muting Itself   How Do I Fix It  - 57My Mic Keeps Muting Itself   How Do I Fix It  - 16My Mic Keeps Muting Itself   How Do I Fix It  - 78My Mic Keeps Muting Itself   How Do I Fix It  - 40My Mic Keeps Muting Itself   How Do I Fix It  - 77My Mic Keeps Muting Itself   How Do I Fix It  - 22My Mic Keeps Muting Itself   How Do I Fix It  - 47My Mic Keeps Muting Itself   How Do I Fix It  - 11My Mic Keeps Muting Itself   How Do I Fix It  - 85My Mic Keeps Muting Itself   How Do I Fix It  - 41My Mic Keeps Muting Itself   How Do I Fix It  - 37My Mic Keeps Muting Itself   How Do I Fix It  - 52My Mic Keeps Muting Itself   How Do I Fix It  - 82My Mic Keeps Muting Itself   How Do I Fix It  - 17My Mic Keeps Muting Itself   How Do I Fix It  - 14My Mic Keeps Muting Itself   How Do I Fix It  - 44My Mic Keeps Muting Itself   How Do I Fix It  - 81My Mic Keeps Muting Itself   How Do I Fix It  - 70My Mic Keeps Muting Itself   How Do I Fix It  - 54My Mic Keeps Muting Itself   How Do I Fix It  - 25My Mic Keeps Muting Itself   How Do I Fix It  - 84My Mic Keeps Muting Itself   How Do I Fix It  - 80